About us

The members of the Catholic Assocoiation of Preachers (CAP) steering group are:

Rev David Christopher McGough - was born on 20 November 1944 in Tunstall, Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire.

Bishop McGough spent 15 years teaching Scripture to students for the Catholic Priesthood at Oscott College from 1974 until 1989. In 1986 he was appointed as Parish Priest at Christ the King, Kingstanding, Birmingham. He has been Parish Priest at Our Lady and All Saints, Stourbridge.

His other responsibilities in the Archdiocese of Birmingham have been as Dean of the Dudley Deanery, and Canon of St Chad’s Cathedral, Birmingham. He was appointed Episcopal Vicar for Walsall, Wolverhampton, the Black Country and Worcestershire in 2004.

He was ordained Bishop by Archbishop Nichols in St Chad’s Cathedral on 8th December 2005.

Rev. Fr Dominic Robinson SJ - Entered the Society of Jesus in 1991 and is currently Assistant Superior of the Mount Street Jesuit Community.  He is engaged in various other pastoral, educational and administrative roles.  He is a member of Mount Street Jesuit Centre team, and teaches courses in theology for adults and gives spiritual direction; and, is an adult faith formation consultant to the Diocese of Westminster.  He supports lay ministry formation and pastoral teams in parishes, jointly co-ordinating the Faith Matters series of talks at Westminster Cathedral and co-ordinating a formation programme in preaching for deacons and priests.  He also teaches dogmatic and pastoral theology at Heythrop College, University of London, specialising in the doctrine of the Trinity, the person of Christ, and the theology of lay ministry.

Rev. Fr. Con Foley - is a priest of the Diocese of Arundel and Brighton. He is parish priest of Christ the Prince of Peace, Weybridge, Surrey and teaches homiletics and St. John’s Seminary, Wonersh. He trained as an accountant before entering the seminary at Wonersh in 1994. He received a doctorate in ministry (D.Min) from Catholic Theological Union Chicago in 2010, specializing in homiletics.

Rev Fr. Joseph Owuou-Ansah - Assistant priest at Church of the Holy Ghost, Balham

Rev. Fr. Thomas Bakulumpagi - Assistant priest at St. George’s Cathedral, Southwark

Rev. Deacon Duncan MacPherson is a Doctor of Ministry in Preaching. From 1967 to 2000 he taught in the Department of Theology and Religious Studies at St Mary's University College, Twickenham

(Now Saint Mary’s University) where he is now a visiting Senior Research Fellow. He serves as Features Editor of The Preacher and is a tutor of the College of Preachers. He is also a member of the US-based Academy of Homiletics and of the Catholic Association of Teachers of Homiletics.

Since 1992 he has been a Permanent Deacon in the diocese of Westminster, he preaches widely and organises workshops on preaching.

Fr John Hemer MHM - John Hemer is a Mill Hill Missionary originally from Liverpool. He lectures in Sacred Scripture at Allen Hall, The Westminster Diocesan Seminary in London and at Oscott College, the Birmingham Seminary. He holds a licentiate from the Pontifical Biblical Institute in Rome. He has worked as a missionary in Pakistan Uganda and Kenya and now gives lectures and retreats throughout Britain and in many other countries.

Carmen Narbona Calvo- Born in Valencia, Spain and educated in a Catholic convent school. After obtaining a master’s degree in Biological Sciences from the University of Valencia worked with the Department of Agriculture as an entomologist both in Spain and Miami, USA. She has lived in the USA, England, Portugal and The Netherlands.

Recently obtained a Masters in Pastoral Theology from St Mary's Twickenham and is currently working as Liturgy Coordinator at Christ the Prince of Peace Catholic Church in Weybridge and as a volunteer assessor & adviser at the Cardinal Hume Centre in London. Recently went to Jordan and saw the plight of the Christian refugees from Iraq and felt completely committed to help them in any way she could and knows she is not alone in this!

Catholic Association of Preachers


Copyright © 2016  Catholic Association of Preachers.  All rights reserved.   Designed by Andy Rodrigues